Live on facebook

From the Squamish Nation website: The Natiosquamish-nation1n consists of 23 villages encompassing 28.28 square kilometers (2,828 hectares). These parcels of land are scattered from Vancouver to Gibson’s Landing to the area north of Howe Sound.

This territory includes some of the present day cities of Vancouver, Burnaby and New Westminster, all of the cities of North Vancouver and West Vancouver, Port Moody and all of the District of Squamish and the Municipality of Whistler. These boundaries embrace all of Howe Sound, Burrard Inlet and English Bay as well as the rivers and creeks that flow into these bodies of water. In addition, we used and occupied the various islands located in Howe Sound.

Historical links to these lands and waters are numerous. Squamish place names exist throughout the territory. In many instances, a location has particular meaning to the Squamish Nation people because of the existence of oral traditions that served to explain that place in the Squamish universe and in their relationship to the land. In addition, the land bears witness to the settlements, resource sites, and spiritual and ritual places of their ancestors, including villages, hunting camps, cedar bark gathering areas, rock quarries, clam processing camps, pictographs and cemeteries. Some of these village sites date back 3000 years.

There are many stories of when Squamish Elders travelled up the Howe Sound by canoe from North Vancouver.


In 2001, the Squamish Nation developed the Xay Temíxw (Sacred Land) Land Use Plan.  The plan identifies four types of land use zones:

  • forest stewardship zones;
  • sensitive areas;
  • restoration areas; and
  • wild spirit places

Read about the Xay Temixw (Sacred Land) Land Use Plan.



Directors Area