Live on facebook

Howe Sound includes a number of communities including recognized municipalities such as West Vancouver, Gibsons, Bowen Island, Lions Bay and Squamish plus local communities such as Britannia Beach, Furry Creek and the various island communities.  There are many local are governments with overlapping jurisdiction governing different parts of the Sound including the different municipal governments, the Sunshine Coast  Regional District and Islands Trust.  However there currently is no official land use plan for the region.  Currently applications can be made by corporations and out of province organizations to exploit the natural resources of this area without any co-ordinated forum to consider the overall socioeconomic and ecological impact that these industial or commercial ventures will have on the various communities and recreational users of the Sound.



Directors Area