Live on facebook

On Saturday April 13th, 139 representatives from 65 organizations converged at the Gleneagles golf course to discuss the Future of Howe Sound.  Participants learned about the region’s economy, environment, culture, and community.  In the afternoon roundtable sessions took place about what people value and what needs to happen to create a common vision for the future and an overall management plan took place.  Outcomes from the meeting will be released soon.

The forum was hosted by the Future of Howe Sound Society, a non-profit organization formed in 2010 whose objective is the preservation and stewardship of Howe Sound for current and future generations.

Registered to attend from around Howe Sound were representatives from:

  • film industry, tourism, forestry, mining, marine Industry, the arts, conservationists, business associations, community groups, marine sciences, youth camps, education and recreation
  • elected officials representing Sea to Sky/West Vancouver, Powell River/ Sunshine Coast,  District of West Vancouver, Sunshine Coast Regional District, Squamish Lillooet Regional District, Bowen Island Municipality, Gambier Island Local Trust, Village of Lions Bay, District of Squamish and Resort Municipality of Whistler
  • Squamish Nation
  • Provincial government staff & municipal staff

The morning set the context followed by Q&A with a variety of panelists.  The afternoon was more interactive as we worked towards finding the common vision for Howe Sound that will lead us to moving forward with a plan.

Welcoming people to the event was Linda Williams, Squamish Nation. Mayor Michael Smith, District of West Vancouver.   Nicholas Simons, MLA Powell River/Sunshine Coast introduced Joan McIntyre, MLA West Vancouver/Sea to Sky.


  • Bob Turner, Chair of Howe Sound Environmental Science Network
  • Grant Lawrence, radio broadcaster and host of CBC Radio 3, and author
  • Steve Olmsted, General Manager Planning and Development, Sunshine Coast Regional District.
  • Stephen Foster, Howe Sound Team Lead, Suzuki Foundation


  • Dr. Jeff Marliave Vice President Marine Science,  Vancouver Aquarium
  • Don Prittie – President, BC Marine Trades Assoc.
  • Edith Tobe – Executive Director, Squamish Watershed Society
  • N. John Smith –  TV producer and former Beachcombers actor
  • Tim Turner, Executive Director, Sea-to-Sky Outdoor School
  • Kevan Ridgeway, Executive Director, Vancouver, Coast and Mountain Tourism Region
  • Mike Wallace,  President, Sea to Sky Forestry Society
  • Jamie Martin, Past President, Squamish Water Sport Society

Media Contact:  Ruth Simons, Executive Director.


Leave a Reply

Directors Area